Helen Golden (photo courtesy DC Thomson)
Helen Golden (photo courtesy DC Thomson)

11 January 2020. New-ish additions to the website for this year: 


I've been writing historical articles for scottishathletics over the last few months. You will now be able to find them here as well - the first three have been added to Arnold's Archive which you can locate on the menu on the right.


There's also a new Athletes section added (see the menu on the top). Six years ago, Colin Shields and I published The Past Is a Foreign Country featuring biographies of Scottish athletes. These are now being added to the website (corrected and updated as appropriate) together with additional factual information on the athletes' careers. The first three have been added covering Helen Golden, Mike Hildrey and John Linaker, and this section will be added to regularly in the weeks and months ahead.


6 January 2020. Today sees the start of a new Facebook group, the SATS Scottish Athletics Network, which replaces the Forum which has been closed down.


The Network is open to everyone interested in athletics and will be a meeting place to chat, share opinions, ask questions, offer advice, discuss events, make friends.


Before we've even launched, we have over 130 members who have joined, so make it successful, take a look, and join today.


Join now and pass it on!

ATHLETES ON THE MOVE: January Club Changes

Most notable among this month's club moves is that of Andrew Fyfe, the Anglo middle-distance runner from Belgrave, who strengthens Edinburgh AC. Andrew set bests last year of 3:53.84 at 1500 metres, 8:26.83 for 3000, 14:22.51 for 5000 and 30:16.88 at 10000, the latter two being his first year at the events.


The following changes of club have been approved by scottishathletics with effect from 1 January 2020:  

James Barnet, Falmouth RRC to Fife AC; Nicola Caig, North Ayrshire AC to VP Glasgow AC; Karen Campbell, Falkland Trail Runners to Fife AC; Ramsay Cook, Montrose & Dist AC to Aberdeen AAC; Steven Cooper, Calderglen Harriers to Whitemoss AAC; Skye Davidson, Springburn Harriers to Hamilton & Dist AC; Andrew Fyfe, Belgrave Harriers to Edinburgh AC; Emily Guest, Central AC to Falkirk Victoria Harriers; Harry McGill, Greenock Glenpark Harriers to Kilbarchan AAC; Roisin Napier, Dunbar RC to Team East Lothian; Matthew Sanders, UKnetrunner to Moray RR; Femke Waite, Ross County AC to Inverness Harriers; Euan Webster, Aberdeen AAC to Ayr Seaforth AC.


The Scottish Association of Track Statisticians has documented athletics performances in Scotland for over 50 years and this website provides authoritative and factual information on performances, rankings, athlete profiles, and records as well as documenting the history of the sport in Scotland.

SATS Privacy Policy

The following link takes you to SATS Privacy Policy.



You can follow us as well on our facebook page for information and stories.



Scottish Association of Track Statisticians (SATS)


Contact E-Mail:


Contact Tel: 07549 898192


Facebook: Our facebook page


SATS Scottish Athletics Network